“Venice Reflections”

May 30, 2011

Two weeks ago I was in Venice, Italy, where I’m pretty sure I walked along every canal in the city although it is easy to be fooled about this given how streets and canals mingle. Certainly I encountered the same space more than once on a number of occassions: some people might call this being lost but I will only say it was so good at such locations the first time that to return was even more delightful. I will, however, confess to feeling overwelmed at the end of each day: visually overwhelmed to be specific. The oasis for me amidst all this was watching reflections on the water.

“Venice Reflections” relates to this oasis. I found this one mid-morning when I’d bought a wonderful espresso and stood outside the shop to watch things as I sipped absorbingly. Buildings everywhere in Venice seem newly painted with versions of patina and the canals blend these in soothing melodies like no where else I know. Big patches of dancing colours disturbed only by boats slicing through to spalsh everything back onto the buildings.

Leave a Reply

