Much Deeper Connection

January 30, 2012

Img-20111207-00088

The homage I paid in Paris, back in December, was to artist Georges-Pierre Seurat: through his ideas about pointillism Seurat initiated Neo-impressionism to the direction of modern art in the 1880s.

A ride on the Gallieni subway took this Calgary Artist to the Pere-Lachaise cemetery in Paris. There I walked through a cold December rain to find the Seurat family site and the grave marker of the artist. Then a few photos to hold this moment as my thoughts connected with what this man accomplished.

Back home in Calgary I have a poster image of Seurat’s large work “Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte” displayed in my office. What I share with this French painter is a simple brushstroke: a dot. There’s a much deeper connection for me in this now.

http://www.jimpescott.com    

Leave a Reply

