Cafe Painting

February 11, 2012

The photo is a painting in process. It is about eighty percent done but I never really know until I get that point with a painting. The canvas is resting against the lid of a wooden paint box that serves as an easel. In this photo I’m not painting in my studio: the setting is the London Fog Cafe in Calgary, Alberta.

Painting at this cafe is a tradition in a random way as I try to be there once a week but it never happens on the same day of the week and then some weeks I’m not in town. Seems all about going wth the flow as best as I can tell.

About ten years ago, the then owner of London Fog Cafe asked me to display my paintings on the walls for a month. It actually turned out to be my first show ever and I sold seven paintings during the 30 days. The rest as the say is history: last December I had work at the Carrousel du Louvre, in Paris.

I still display paintings at London Fog Cafe (see third photo of cafe images). This Calgary artist has known four London Fog owners over the years: the current owners, Pat and Len make some great soup and sandwiches. And I personally love the butterscotch cookies!

If you are in Calgary, and close by, I hope you can drop by the London Fog Cafe. Catching me there is always possible but not for sure.

Pht_20120209_0

_____________________________________

To contact Jim Pescott call him direct at 403-870-0591 or email paintwithdots@shaw.ca

http://www.jimpescott.com

Leave a Reply

