Have You Seen This Place?

March 2, 2012

I paint on location and sometimes from photo sources. Often I paint from within.

The canvas was painted over a few hours while this Calgary artist listened to Blues through earbuds connected to Slacker Radio playing on my BlackBerry. I never look up: there is no question of what goes where or how something should be. Colours reached out from the palette. Everything unfolds in layers and layers.

The place feels familiar but it is no where I know exactly. I can show you where it is but it isn’t the same place.

When I paint from within it is very much connected to somewhere I’ve seen either in this lifetime, or perhaps, in another lifetime. Not sure.

Have you seen this place?

Pht_20120224_1

__________________________________________________

Jim Pescott is an international contemporary artist who lives and creates in Calgary, Alberta. To contact Jim directly about his paintings, or a project you think about, please phone 403-870-0591 or email him at paintwithdots@shaw.ca. His website is http://www.jimpescott.com

Leave a Reply

