Love Affair

March 27, 2012

 “You have a love affair with aspens.”

I heard the words and immediately felt so guilty. I’d not ever thought about aspens as an object of love but I knew it was true.

Right now, in my studio, I’m painting a group of seven canvases that include a total of seventy-five aspen trees around the theme “In A Yellow Wood”. Proof enough. Who would do this if they didn’t love aspens?

Aspens are so interesting. Each aspen is an individual: it looks nothing like its neighbour aspen as a douglas fir would. Every aspen is its own shape and this, together with the scars it displays, relates the individual life it lives. How like people this seems.  Perhaps each aspen I paint is a portrait.

What is the tree that you love?

The aspens in this painting are on a hillside that slopes toward an escarpment. They endure a nearby roadway, certainly gravity and people who brush against them. Of course the raw elements of various weather systems throughout the year are a significant endurance as well. This group of aspens seems much like a family as they reach to each other and touch.

2 Responses to “Love Affair”


  1. I love aspens too. They remind me Russian birch trees. May be they came from the same family? And I love to paint them too 🙂

    • dotpainter Says:

      I was painting aspens on location a while ago when a gentleman came up to watch. After about five minutes he said with a wonderful accent, “Looks like Russia.” The best I can tell is aspens circumnavigate the northern hemisphere:)


Leave a Reply

